Welcome New ICSD School Board Members

By January 7, 2021No Comments

Three community public-education advocates were sworn in as members of the Iron County School Board Tuesday night, January 5, as they took an Oath of Office to perform their four-year terms with fidelity and uphold the U.S. Constitution and the constitution of the state of Utah.

Judge Margaret Miller officiated the swearing-in ceremony, as she invited Dave Staheli, who represents District 1 (replacing Michelle Jones); Ben Johnson, who represents District 2 (replacing Mary Ann Kemp), and Jeff Corry, who represents District 3 (replacing Stephen Allen); to participate in the oath. Ben Johnson (under COVID quarantine) participated remotely through Zoom.

Current board member Michelle Lambert, who represents District 4, was elected by the Board as the the new Board President. Quoting Michelle, “We had a great first meeting with our new school board on Tuesday. Our new members come with valuable experience and enthusiasm and a commitment to putting students first. I am excited to work together to build bridges with our schools and our community as we look to the future.”

Current board member Dale Brinkerhoff, who represents District 5, was elected by the Board as the new Board Vice President.

After discussion, the Board also voted to change the monthly work meeting to the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. and to change the time of the regular fourth Tuesday board meeting to 5:30 p.m.

Thank you so much to our previous Board members, and congratulations and welcome to our new Board members. We look forward to their leadership as we continue our mission of “Reaching Higher: Creating a Better Tomorrow for All.”

Skip to content