Compulsory Attendance - Regulation

Policy Code: 
Adoption Date: 
Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Review Date: 
Tuesday, August 24th, 2010

Compulsory AttendancE 

Utah Code 53A-11-101.  Responsibility for minor required to attend school--Penalty for violation 

  • A person having control of a minor between six and 18 years of age shall send the minor to a public or regularly established private school during the school year of the district in which the minor resides.
  • It is a misdemeanor for a person having control of a minor to willfully fail to comply with the requirements of this section.
  • A district board of education shall report cases of willful noncompliance to the appropriate juvenile court.
  • Officers of the juvenile court shall immediately take appropriate action.

Utah Code 53A-11-102.  Minors exempt from school attendance. 

  • The minor is over 16 years of age, completed 8th grade, and is needed to work to support a parent.
  • The minor has completed the work necessary to graduate from high school.
  • The minor is taught at home.
  • The minor has a physical or mental condition, which makes school attendance impracticable or inexpedient.
  • The minor is properly taught in connection with his or her employment.
  • The superintendent has determined that a minor over 16 years of age is unable to profit from attendance at school because of inability or a continuing negative attitude toward school regulations and discipline.

See Utah Code Sections 53A-11-101 and 102 for complete wording and specifics.



Non-Discrimination Statement

Iron County School District is committed to a policy of equal employment opportunity and does not discriminate in the terms, conditions, or privileges of employment on account of race, age, color, sex, national origin, physical or mental disability, or religion or otherwise as may be prohibited by federal and state law.

School District Office

Hours 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Mon.- Fri.
2077 W. Royal Hunte Dr.
Cedar City, Utah 84720
PH 435.586.2804  FAX 435.586.2815